22 Appeal Court Justices To Be Elevated To Supreme Court {Full List}

22 Appeal Court Justices To Be Elevated To Supreme Court {Full List}

22 Appeal Court Justices

OpenLife Nigeria has reliably gathered that the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) has nominated 22 justices of the Court of Appeal to the National Judicial Council (NJC) for elevation to the Supreme Court.

Document from FJSC containing the 22 names obtained by journalists on Thursday showed that six of the nominees are from the South East geopolitical region, six from North-Central geopolitical region, four from North West while two nominees each are from the South-West, the South-South and North East respectively.

It is worthy to note that after the retirement of Justice Musa Dattijo Mohammed on October 27, 2023, having attained the mandatory statutory retirement age of 70 years, the number of Supreme Court Justices was reduced to 10,

During the valedictory session in honour of the retired Justice Dattijo, the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Justice Olukayode Ariwoola had said that there are indications that the Supreme Court will soon have its full compliment of 21 justices, adding that he is desirous to fast-track the process of appointing 11 new Justices.

The full list


1. Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State)-Priority 1A.Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State) -Reserve
2. Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State)-Priority
2A. Hon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State)- Reserve
3. Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State)-Priority
3A. Hon Justice Chioma Nwosu-lheme (Imo State)-Reserve


1. Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State)-Priority
1A. Hon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State)-Reserve
1. Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State)-Priority
1A. Hon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State)-Reserve


1. Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State)-Priority
1A. Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau)-Reserve
2. Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State)-Priority
2A. Hon Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State) -Reserve
3. Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State)-Priority
3A. Hon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State)-Reserve


1. Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State)-Priority
1A. Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State)


1. Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State)-Priority
1A. Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State) -Reserve
2. Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State)-Priority
2A. Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State)-Reserve

22 Appeal Court Justices To Be Elevated  To Supreme Court {Full List}
Chief Judge of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola

About Author

Share This